

# Northbridge Public Schools Northbridge School Committee

87 Linwood Avenue, Whitinsville, Massachusetts 01588 (508) 234-8156 FAX (508) 234-8469 www.nps.org

Michael LeBrasseur, Chairperson, <u>mlebrasseur@nps.org</u>, Joseph Strazzulla, Vice-Chairperson, Alicia Cannon, Brian Paulhus

## Joint Meeting Between Northbridge School Committee & The Northbridge Board of Selectmen

## **Meeting Minutes**

## Tuesday, June 12, 2018 7:00 PM Northbridge High School Media Center

I. Call to Order (7:00 PM)

Michael LeBrasseur called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm and took attendance of School Committee members:

Michael LeBrasseur	Present
Brian Paulhus	Present
Joseph Strazzulla	Present

Charlie Ampagoomian called for roll call of Selectmen:

James Athanas -- Present Tom Melia -- Present Daniel Nolan -- Present Charlie Ampagoomian – Present Alicia Cannon- Absent

- II. Charlie Ampagoomian welcomed the following candidates: Michael Alden, Bethany Cammarano, Randi Zanca, and Nicole Bottiglieri. The members of the School Committee and the Board of Selectmen interviewed the candidates.
- III. Charlie Ampagoomian opened up the meeting for nominations for the first seat.

IV. The motion was made by Joseph Strazzulla to nominate Michael Alden for the first seat. The motion was seconded by Tom Melia. The vote was taken by roll call and the following votes were recorded:

Michael LeBrasseur	Yes
Brian Paulhus	Yes
Joseph Strazzulla	Yes
James Athanas	No
Daniel Nolan	No
Thomas Melia	Yes
Charles Ampagoomian	No

4 members having voted in the affirmative

3 members having voted in the negative

Having not received a majority (5) of votes for all officers entitled to vote (8), the motion does not carry.

The motion was made by James Athanas to nominate Bethany Cammarano for the first seat. The motion was seconded by Charlie Ampagoomian. The vote was taken by roll call and the following votes were recorded:

Michael LeBrasseur	No	
Brian Paulhus	Yes	
Joseph Strazzulla	Yes	
James Athanas	Yes	
Daniel Nolan	Yes	
Thomas Melia	Yes	
Charles Ampagoomian	Yes	
6 members having voted in the affirmative		
1 members having voted in the negative		
The motion was accepted with a roll call vote of 6-1.		

\*Bethany Cammarano was voted for the first seat.

The nomination for Nicole Borriglieri by Tom Melia and Joseph Strazzulla and the nomination for Randi Zanca by Michael LeBrasseur and Daniel Nolan were not voted on.

Charlie Ampagoomian opened up the nominations for the second seat.

The motion was made by Michael LeBrasseur to nominate Randi Zanca for the second seat. The motion was seconded by Daniel Nolan. The vote was taken by roll call and the following votes were recorded:

Michael LeBrasseur	Yes
Brian Paulhus	No
Joseph Strazzulla	Yes
James Athanas	No
Daniel Nolan	Yes
Thomas Melia	No
Charles Ampagoomian	Yes

4 members having voted in the affirmative

3 members having voted in the negative

Having not received a majority (5) of votes for all officers entitled to vote (8), the motion does not carry.

The motion was made by James Athanas to nominate Nicole Bottiglieri for the second seat. The motion was seconded by Michael LeBrasseur. The vote was taken by roll call and the following votes were recorded:

Michael LeBrasseur	No
Brian Paulhus	No
Joseph Strazzulla	No
James Athanas	Yes
Daniel Nolan	Yes
Thomas Melia	Yes
Charles Ampagoomian	Yes

4 members having voted in the affirmative

3 members having voted in the negative

Having not received a majority (5) of votes for all officers entitled to vote (8), the motion does not carry.

The motion was made by Thomas Melia to nominate Michael Alden for the second seat. The motion was seconded by Joseph Strazzulla. The vote was taken by roll call and the following votes were recorded:

Michael LeBrasseur	Yes	
Brian Paulhus	Yes	
Joseph Strazzulla	Yes	
James Athanas	No	
Daniel Nolan	Yes	
Thomas Melia	Yes	
Charles Ampagoomian	No	
5 members having voted in the affirmative		
2 members having voted in the negative		
The motion was accepted with a roll call vote of 5-2.		
*Michael Alden was voted for the second seat.		

#### V. Adjournment (7:53 PM)

The motion was made by Michael LeBrasseur to adjourn the Joint Meeting between the Board of Selectmen and School Committee at 7:53PM. The motion was seconded by Joseph Strazzulla. The vote was taken by roll call and the following votes were recorded:

Michael LeBrasseur	Yes
Brian Paulhus	Yes
Joseph Strazzulla	Yes
James Athanas	Yes
Daniel Nolan	Yes
Thomas Melia	Yes
Charles Ampagoomian	Yes
7 members having voted in the affirmative	
0 members having voted in the negative	

#### The motion was accepted with a roll call vote of 7-0.